Back to Success Stories

Osama Essa, 30 years old, Originally from Syria

Osama Essa, 30 years old, Originally from Syria

Part 1: Before each One

Oussama's father is Palestinian, his mother Syrian: origins he is proud of. He graduated in journalism from the University of Damascus, then worked as an editor for a magazine and then as a reporter and sports host on a national radio station.

In 2017, he was forced to leave his country. One of his uncles, Franco-Syrian, is a professor at the Pasteur Institute in Paris and his maternal grandmother lives in Rennes: France, despite the language barrier, is an obvious choice.

From one day to the next, you don't just leave a territory: you leave your mother tongue, your family, your friends, your memories, your neighborhood, your apartment, your car. Everything you've built.

When he arrives in Brittany, and despite the presence of some of his relatives (Oussama made the trip with his mother), the gap is brutal. Accustomed to the city of Damascus, in constant movement, Rennes is quite calm. Fortunately the Bretons are open, welcoming and warm with foreigners.

The first step, of course, was to learn the language. Oussama looked for all the spaces, workshops and courses that would allow him to progress. After two or three months, he started to get by. But the language was not the only challenge: he knew nothing about the city, and at the same time, he had to follow all the administrative procedures, which require time, effort and a good understanding of French.

Part 2: During each One

Integration was difficult: I experienced it as a loss of identity.

Little by little, Oussama learns the language and rebuilds his life in Rennes. The social worker who accompanies his reintegration quickly talks to him about each One: he applies with her help and is accepted.

At each One, if you ask, there's always people to help you.

He did the program at Science-Po Rennes, where he perfected his French and gradually integrated French culture. His mentor, a sports instructor in an establishment in Nantes, helped him in his job search. Passionate about the world of sport and the media, Oussama had to face the harsh reality of journalism in France: a popular sector that has so few offers. Determined, he never gave up and ended up getting an internship at AFP.

Within the program and on campus, Oussama made many friends, with whom he still keeps in touch today. He encouraged his wife to join the program, and she did one semester later. His wife's mentor, having heard about his career plan, introduced him to Xavier, a journalist in Rennes, who activates his network and introduces Oussama to it. Thanks to this, he is invited by Aurélie Rousseaux, general manager of TV Rennes, to come for an interview for a six-month internship. Motivated as ever, Oussama was accepted into the editorial staff in September 2019.

Part 3: After each One

TV Rennes is a great school.

There he was trained on the field: every day, Oussama would define his subject, take his camera, shoot his sequence, write his interview, write his documentary and edit his video. The team was great, he felt he belonged there and found the support he needed.
Since that internship, he has been a freelance journalist.

Am I going to make it? I don't know, but I'm as motivated as I was on the first day: I'm an optimistic person, I was already optimistic in Syria, despite the difficult conditions. I can still see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Even though he is well aware of the many obstacles that complicate the career of a French journalist, Oussama will not give up. He is improving his technique at breakneck speed, and, brick by brick, is trying to build his network. Not everything is easy every day, but he is learning, progressing and moving forward. His goal: to do French-style journalism. And he's off to a good start.

Discover another story

Karamaldeen Hassan, 32 years old, Originally from Sudan

Intern at L'Oréal Paris and founder of an association

Ketevani Barikhashvili, 27 years old, Originally from Georgia

Student at the Sorbonne Nouvelle in Cultural Mediation

Sahib Zada, 28 years old, Originally from Pakistan

CAP student to become a butcher

Are you a company looking to recruit? Use our WERO recruitment services

Retour Success Stories

Oussama Essa, 30 ans, Originaire de Syrie

Oussama Essa, 30 ans, Originaire de Syrie

Partie 1 : Avant each One

Le père d’Oussama est palestinien, sa mère, syrienne : des origines dont il est fier. C’est à l’université de journalisme de Damas qu’il obtient son diplôme, avant de travailler comme éditeur dans un magazine, puis comme reporter et animateur sportif sur une radio nationale.  

En 2017, il est contraint de quitter son pays. L’un de ses oncles, franco-syrien, est professeur à l’institut Pasteur à Paris et sa grand-mère maternelle habite à Rennes : la France, malgré la barrière de la langue, est un choix évident.

Du jour au lendemain, on ne quitte pas seulement un territoire : on quitte sa langue maternelle, sa famille, ses amis, ses souvenirs, son quartier, son appartement, sa voiture. Tout ce qu’on a construit.

Lorsqu’il arrive en Bretagne, et malgré la présence de certains de ses proches (Oussama a fait le voyage avec sa mère), le décalage est brutal. Habitué à la ville de Damas, en mouvement permanent, Rennes est bien calme. Heureusement les bretons sont ouverts, accueillants et chaleureux avec les étrangers.

La première étape, c’est bien entendu d’apprendre la langue. Oussama cherche tous les espaces, les ateliers, les cours qui lui permettraient de progresser. Après deux ou trois mois, il commence à se débrouiller. Mais la langue n’est pas le seul challenge : de cette ville, il ne connaît rien, et puis il faut, en parallèle, suivre toutes les démarches administratives, qui demandent du temps, des efforts et une maîtrise rigoureuse du français.

Partie 2 : Pendant each One

L’intégration est difficile : je l’ai vécu comme une perte d’identité.

Petit à petit, Oussama apprend la langue et reconstruit sa vie à Rennes. L’assistante sociale qui accompagne sa réinsertion lui parle rapidement de each One : il y postule avec son aide et y est accepté.

Chez each One, si tu demandes, il y a toujours des gens pour t’aider.

Il suit le programme à Science-Po Rennes, où il perfectionne son français, intègre progressivement la culture française. Son mentor, chargé de sport dans un établissement à Nantes, l’accompagne dans sa recherche d’emploi. Passionné par le monde du sport et des médias, Oussama doit faire face à la dure réalité du journalisme en France : un secteur très prisé et qui n’a pourtant que si peu d’offres. Déterminé, il ne lâche rien et finit par obtenir un stage à l’AFP.

Au sein du programme et du campus, Oussama s’est fait de nombreux amis, avec qui il garde encore contact aujourd’hui. Il encourage sa femme à rejoindre le programme, ce qu’elle fait un semestre plus tard. Le mentor de sa femme, ayant entendu parler de son projet professionnel, lui présente Xavier, journaliste à Rennes, qui active son réseau et y introduit Oussama. Grâce à cela, il est invité par Aurélie Rousseaux, directrice générale de TV Rennes, à venir passer un entretien pour un stage de six mois. Motivé comme jamais, Oussama est accepté au sein de la rédaction en septembre 2019.

Partie 3 : Après each One

TV Rennes, c’est une école formidable.

Là-bas il se forme sur le terrain : chaque jour, Oussama définit son sujet, prend sa caméra, tourne sa séquence, rédige son interview, écrit son documentaire et monte sa vidéo. L’équipe est chouette, il s’y sent à sa place et y trouve le soutien dont il a besoin.
Depuis ce stage, il y est journaliste pigiste.

Est-ce que je vais réussir ? Je ne sais pas, mais je suis motivé comme au premier jour : je suis quelqu’un d’optimiste, je l’étais déjà en Syrie, malgré des conditions difficiles :  je vois toujours le bout du tunnel.

S’il est très au fait des nombreux obstacles qui compliquent la carrière d’un journaliste français, Oussama ne baissera pas les bras. Il améliore sa technique à vitesse grand V, et, brique par brique, tâche de bâtir son réseau. Tout n’est pas simple tous les jours, mais il apprend, il progresse et il avance. Son objectif : faire du journalisme à la française. Et il est bien parti.

Découvrir une autre histoire

Karamaldeen Hassan, 32 ans, Originaire du Soudan

Stagiaire chez L’Oréal Paris et fondateur d’une association

Sahib Zada, 28 ans, Originaire du Pakistan

Étudiant en CAP pour devenir boucher

Ketevani Barikhashvili, 27 ans, Originaire de Géorgie

Étudiante à la Sorbonne Nouvelle en Médiation culturelle