Back to Success Stories

Karamaldeen Hassan, 32 years old, Originally from Sudan

Karamaldeen Hassan, 32 years old, Originally from Sudan

Part 1: Before each One

Karamaldeen Hassan is Sudanese. After studying public relations in Sudan for three years, he studied e-commerce in India for four years.

In 2015, he fled his country, crossing Egypt, Italy, Paris, Calais and planned to reach England where he has family to seek asylum.

Although Karam ended up applying for asylum in France, and it turned out to be an important decision: on his arrival, he was very touched by the humanity and compassion of the volunteers and associations that welcomed him in Calais. He quickly fell in love with the language. But above all, the sudden loss of one of his travelling companions gave him a jolt: he reviewed his plans and decided to give himself all the tools necessary to succeed, first of all, for his friend.

Once his refugee status was granted, Karam visited his brother in Norway. He was fascinated by the welcome and the care he received in learning the language. The refugees he met there all spoke Norwegian perfectly in less than two years.

Karam experienced it when he arrived, French is a really complicated language. Conjugation, grammar, spelling, it's all a big deal. Karam soon decided to study on his own to complete his lessons. He worked hard, listening to France Inter radio and French songs and doubled his exercises. For him, learning the language was already a way of rebuilding his dignity: it was giving himself a voice, making himself heard, but also integrating and having the keys to understanding a culture and a country so different from his own.

I had hope and perseverance.

His work payed off: he was accepted at university in a master's degree in Entrepreneurship. As an entrepreneur, Karam had a project: to create the association La Voix des Réfugiés (Voice of Refugees) in Arras, which aims to inform, testify and above all to integrate people through cultural activities, French courses and tutoring.

Part 2: During each One

It's the encounters that allow us to move forward.

Although Karam has managed to get into university on his own, he still needs professional support. Yasmine, one of his friends in Lyon, talks to him about each One and helps him apply. He joins the Science Po Lille program and takes full advantage of all the professional support set up by the association. He meets his mentor, his coach and his buddy.

« each OneEven if I play well, without a coach, I can't progress. »

For him, this was a great asset and a considerable time saver. Because each person has a different role, a particular vision: the three complement each other. With his Buddy, he chats, makes friends, has fun and meets new people. With his Mentor and Coach, he prepares his CV, probes the options that match his ambitions, and progresses in his understanding of the French work world.

With Karam's each Onehelp, Karam reclaims his future: the field of possibilities is much wider than he thought, and four months later, with the help of his mentor, he applies to L'Oréal for a six-month internship in the field of HR development and facilitation. And he gets the job.

Part 3: After each One

each One allows refugees to become actors in their own lives again.

Karam feels fulfilled at L'Oréal, where he started as an intern in the human resources department. There, he managed the arrival of new employees through seminars and integration days. He was also involved in coordinating this year's One Young World, the global summit for young leaders. This is the most international event that has taken place in London since the Olympics. Its goal is to bring together all the leaders under 30 years of age who have an impact and are committed to a more responsible, ecological and humane world.

He is currently in charge of communication projects on social and environmental responsibility for the L'Oréal Foundation and intends to take advantage of his permanent contract to help refugees.

Karam loves his team, he loves his job and he feels that he is a part of the company; he looks forward to the future.

It's my life's project, this association.

At the same time, Karam develops his association with Françoise, a friend he met in a shelter when he arrived. The mayor of Arras is a great support; impressed by his new skills in French and sensitive to solidarity initiatives, he recently found premises for him in Arras. La Voix des Réfugiés is growing rapidly.

Since Karam's interview, he has landed a permanent contract: he is in charge of communication projects at the L'Oréal Foundation and is fully developed.

Discover another story

Sahib Zada, 28 years old, Originally from Pakistan

CAP student to become a butcher

Osama Essa, 30 years old, Originally from Syria

Journalist at TVR (Brittany)

Ketevani Barikhashvili, 27 years old, Originally from Georgia

Student at the Sorbonne Nouvelle in Cultural Mediation

Are you a company looking to recruit? Use our WERO recruitment services

Retour Success Stories

Karamaldeen Hassan, 32 ans, Originaire du Soudan

Karamaldeen Hassan, 32 ans, Originaire du Soudan

Partie 1 : Avant each One

Karamaldeen Hassan est soudanais. Après avoir étudié les relations publiques au Soudan pendant trois ans, il étudie l’e-commerce en Inde pendant quatre ans.

En 2015, il fuit son pays, traverse l’Egypte, l’Italie, Paris, Calais et prévoit de rejoindre l’Angleterre où il a de la famille pour y demander l’asile.

Si Karam finit par demander l’asile en France, ce n’est pas une décision anodine : à son arrivée, il est très touché par l’humanité et la compassion des bénévoles et des associations qui l’accueillent à Calais. Il tombe vite amoureux de la langue. Mais surtout, la perte soudaine de l’un de ses compagnons de voyage est un électrochoc : il revoit ses plans et décide de se donner tous les moyens pour réussir, et ce, d’abord pour son ami.

Une fois son statut de réfugié obtenu, Karam rend visite à son frère en Norvège. Il est fasciné par l’accueil et la prise en charge relative à l’apprentissage de la langue : les réfugiés qu’il y rencontre parlent tous le norvégien parfaitement en moins de deux ans.

Karam l’a vécu à son arrivée, le français est une langue vraiment compliquée. La conjugaison, la grammaire, l’orthographe, tout ça n’est pas une mince affaire. Très vite, il prend le parti d’étudier de son côté pour compléter ses cours : Il travaille d’arrache-pied, écoute France Inter et des chansons françaises, multiplie les exercices. Pour lui, l’apprentissage de la langue, c’est déjà reconstruire sa dignité : c’est se donner une voix, se faire entendre, mais aussi s’intégrer et avoir les clés pour comprendre une culture et un pays si différents du sien.

Je garde espoir et persévérance

Son travail paie : il est accepté à l’université en master Entrepreneuriat. Parce que Karam est un entrepreneur. Son projet : la création d’une association La Voix des Réfugiés à Arras, qui vise justement à informer, témoigner et surtout s’intégrer par la mise en place d’activités culturelles, de cours de français, de soutien scolaire.

Partie 2 : Pendant each One

Ce sont les rencontres qui permettent d’avancer.

Si Karam est parvenu seul à intégrer l’université, il reste qu’il a besoin d’un accompagnement professionnel. Yasmine, l’une de ses amies à Lyon, lui parle de each One et l’aide à postuler. Il intègre le programme de Science Po Lille et profite à fond de tout l’accompagnement professionnel mis en place par l’association. Il rencontre son mentor, son coach et son buddy.

« each One, c’est comme un coach en sport : même si je joue bien, sans coach, je ne peux pas progresser. »

Pour lui, c’est un atout formidable et un gain de temps considérable. Parce que chaque personne a un rôle différent, une vision particulière : le trio est complémentaire. Avec son Buddy, il discute, se fait des amis, se divertit et fait des rencontres. Avec son mentor et son coach, il prépare son CV, sonde les options à la hauteur de ses ambitions, progresse dans sa compréhension du monde du travail en France.

Avec l’aide de each One, Karam se réapproprie son avenir : le champ de possibles est bien plus vaste qu’il ne le pensait, et quatre mois plus tard, avec l’aide de son mentor, il postule chez l’Oréal pour un stage de six mois dans le domaine du développement et de l’animation RH. Et il obtient le poste.

Partie 3 : Après each One

each One permet aux réfugiés de redevenir acteurs de leur propre vie.

Karam se sent épanoui chez l’Oréal, où il a commencé comme stagiaire au département des ressources humaines. Il y gérait l’arrivée des nouveaux employés : les séminaires et les journées d’intégration. Il a également participé à la coordination cette année du One Young World, le congrès mondial des jeunes leaders. C’est l’évènement le plus international qui ait eu lieu à Londres depuis les JO. Son ambition : rassembler tous les leaders de moins de 30 ans qui ont un impact et s’engagent pour un monde plus responsable, plus écologique et plus humain.

Aujourd’hui en CDI, il est en charge des projets communication responsabilité sociétale et environnementale pour la Fondation l’Oréal et compte bien en profiter pour aider les personnes réfugiées.

Karam adore son équipe, il adore son travail et il se sent intégré dans l’entreprise ; il regarde l’avenir avec enthousiasme.

C’est le projet de ma vie cette association.

En parallèle, Karam développe son association avec Françoise, une amie qu’il a rencontrée en centre d’hébergement à son arrivée. Le maire d’Arras est un soutien précieux, impressionné par sa nouvelle maîtrise du français et sensible aux initiatives solidaires, il lui a récemment trouvé un local à Arras. La Voix des Réfugiés est en plein essor.

Depuis l'interview de Karam, il a décroché un CDI : il est chargé de projets communication à la Fondation L'Oréal et s'épanouit pleinement.

Découvrir une autre histoire

Sahib Zada, 28 ans, Originaire du Pakistan

Étudiant en CAP pour devenir boucher

Ketevani Barikhashvili, 27 ans, Originaire de Géorgie

Étudiante à la Sorbonne Nouvelle en Médiation culturelle

Oussama Essa, 30 ans, Originaire de Syrie

Journaliste à TVR (Bretagne)